jump to navigation

My 10 Minutes at Walden Pond September 20, 2009

Posted by tmorty in Uncategorized.
trackback

Several years ago I had the chance to take a vacation with my friend James to Boston, a place that I had always wanted to visit.  Boston was great, but in addition we also took a side trip to Lexington and Concord as I had wanted to see the sites of the Revolutionary War since I was a kid. Once we left Concord, we drove to Walden Pond. We didn’t really have that much time to be at the pond because we had spent so much time in other places. However, we did stop off at Walden Pond for about 10 minutes. I really wish I would have had more time there, but I still got to see it nonetheless.

Walden Pond still frozen over during the early Spring.

Walden Pond still frozen over during the early Spring.

I thought about how much time Thoreau had spent here in comparison to my 10 minutes. However, that 10 minutes was great. It was so peaceful and upon seeing all of the trees and the lake frozen over, it made for a perfect end to a great Sunday afternoon. The picture above that I took while I was there always reminds me of my favorite quote from Walden:

“There are a thousand [men] hacking at the branches of evil to one who is striking at the root. and it may be that he who bestows the largest amount of time and money on the needy is doing the most by his mode of life to produce that misery which he strives in vain to relieve.”

I have often thought about this statement. I think that us as individuals can be both of these kind of men that Thoreau mentions at different times in our lives. I would go even further and say that even the one man striking at the root of  evil will occasionally forget the root and swing again for the branches. Also, I thought to be careful before judging another man to be part of the thousand swinging in the wrong direction. For who is to say that a man cutting down branches his whole life couldn’t suddenly turn and strike the root?

Comments»

1. Kristi - September 20, 2009

I visited Walden Pond in April. It was one of the prettiest places I’ve been.


Leave a Reply

